Supermarket Shopping Trip

Today’s Grocery Store Trip. Cost Only $8.81!

 

I love Boston, but I hate grocery shopping in Boston.  Not only is there a serious lack of store options, but it is quite a challenge to carry your purchases back home on the train, and then the quarter of a mile walk from the train stop to my house.  Never the less, I made my weekly trip to Shaw’s this afternoon. Shaw’s is my store of choice for grocery shopping (out of my two options of Shaws and Stop and Shop) primarily because they double coupons up to $.99 and they are conveniently located from my house. 

Before I go in detail on today’s trip please allow me to explain myself.  I know what you might be thinking.  This is a living lean blog, and why on earth did I buy 4 cartons of ice cream?!?!  Well, I’ll tell you why so you can make the same smart shopping move. This week Shaw’s is running a special that when you buy 4 ice cream products you get $4.00 off your next grocery store purchase.  Simultaneously, they are also running a sale on Edy’s ice cream… Buy one Get one Free.  So, I got 4 containers of ice cream for the price of 2 AND got $4.00 off my next order (the order below).   Even though we are only a family of two, my husband and I will have no problem polishing off that ice cream as we both have a wicked sweet tooth.

Shopping Break Down:

1 Gallon Swiss Tea Lemon Aid on sale for $2.00 (normally 2.99)

                -Used (1) $.75 off coupon, doubled to $1.50 off

                Final Price= $.50

½ Gallon Swiss Ice Tea on sale for $1.79 (normally 2.00)

                -Used (1) $.75 off coupon, doubled to $1.50 off

                Final Price= $.50

Frank’s Red Hot Sauce- bought 2 on sale for $1.19 (normally $1.39)

                -used (1) $1.00 off 2 coupon

                Final Price= 1.38 for 2!

KC Original BBQ Sauce on sale for $1.89 (normally $2.13)

                -Used (1) $1.00 off coupon

                Final Price= $.89

Special K Chips on sale for $2.50 (normally $3.69)

                -Used (1) $1.00 off coupon

                Final Price= $1.50 * a little high, but I wanted to try them

Kelloggs Raisin Brain on sale for $1.99 (normally $3.99)

                -Used $.50 off 2 coupon- doubled to $1.00 off

                Final Price = $2.98 for two! (only $1.49 per box)

Heinz Ketchup—we were completely out.  On sale for $1.99 (normally 3.45)

                -Used $.25 off coupon- doubled to $.50 off

                Final price= $1.49

Ground Beef–$6.16

                -Used $3.00 off coupon (attached to package)

                Final Price=$3.16

4c Totally light green tea—on sale for $2.00 (normally $4.79)

                -used $1.00 of 1 coupon

                Final Price= $1.00

Ronzoni Garden delight Pasta on sale for $1.00 (normally $1.89)

                -Used $.100 off coupon

                Final Price = FREE!!!

*Used $4.00 off coupon from Edy’s purchase

Total Out of Pocket Spent= $8.81

Savings of $29.06

All in all today was a pretty good shopping day, and the quarter of a mile walk from the train to my house was a lot less painful with an extra $30.00 in my pocket!

Leave a Reply

