Life Lessons / Mo' money, Mo' problems

“Momma Knows Best”

I am very blessed to have two wonderful parents in my life. Two financially savvy parents at that.  For as long as I can remember my dad has tried to teach me the tricks to his success, while my mother has tried to instill her saving methods upon me.  And for as long as I can remember, I have not listened to either one of them (typical parent/child relationship right).  It’s not that I didn’t want to learn, I mean who doesn’t want to have a nice financial portfolio? I guess I figured success would just happen for me.  Well, nothing in life “just happens for you.”  It’s funny how I preach to my classes and clients every day that “if you want what you have never had, you have to do what you have never done.”  Meaning if you want to be in the best shape of your life then obviously what you are doing now is not working…we must try something new.  Why have I been able to follow this mentality in my fitness career, but not with my finances?

It may have taken 30 years, but all the advice/wisdom my parents distilled on me will finally be put to good use!  Moving to Boston may be one of the best things that have ever happened to me.  Losing my cushy salary and now earning a small hourly wage has put the value of a dollar into perspective like never before.  My father has always told me “the key to becoming rich is to make your money work for you, and the only way to get more money is to increase revenue streams or reduce spending.”  Since I don’t make a lot of money, (I am trying like crazy to get more clients to increase my revenue stream) the easiest way for me to increase my net worth now is by reducing spending.

 My husband and I do not live very elaborate lives.  We do not have cable t.v. or cars.  We make our coffee at home every morning (okay, well he makes our coffee every day) and only eat out once a week.  When looking at our list of expenses there are not too many places to cut luxuries.  An obvious place to start was at the grocery store.

As a small child I can remember my mom dragging me to the grocery store with her, and being embarrassed by her box of coupons.  I would want raisin bran but if she only had a coupon for Cheerios then by golly I was eating Cheerios for breakfast that week.  When I went to college my loving mother would cut coupons out of the newspaper and mail them to me every week (she still does to this day.)  I would use a few coupons here or there, but never attempted to do what I do now. SAVE HUGE!  The student has exceeded the teacher, because I am actually much better at coupon shopping than she is now, and my mom has even asked for my couponing advice! 

My parents did not grow up with all the luxuries they have given to me.  All their success was earned. They had to work hard for their money, and then work even harder to save it!  My dad loves to tell the story of when he was in college he slept in a sleeping bag on the floor and put pictures of food in his refrigerator because all of his money went to rent.  Hopefully someday I will be wealthy like my parents are now, and can embarrass my kids with stories of when “mom only made a few dollars an hour and blogged about her couponing.”  Embarrassing them will be well worth it, if it means they turn out learning everything my parents taught me!  Maybe the old adage is right:  Momma (and dads) really do know best!

One thought on ““Momma Knows Best”

  1. This is the best blog in the whole blogosphere.

    Love your stories and your crystal clear narrative.

    Pappy, aka The Papster

Leave a Reply

