Foodieness!!!!

Homemade Dried Fruit

photo from istock

photo from istock

I love dried fruit. My favorite is dried papaya, but honestly I enjoy it all. Mangos, apples, apricots, pears, figs…

I love dried fruit, but what I don’t love, is their price tag. There are never any coupons, and if there are it’s for some processed, preservative filled, sugary thing pretending to be dried fruit. Real dried fruit, the kind that is nothing but actual fruit…but dried is expensive!

At whole foods a 1lb bag of apricots is $8. As you all know from reading my blog I pay about $8 for an entire trip to the grocery store! Even at trader Joe’s where prices are little more reasonable an 8 ounce package of apricots can run you about $3.50. There had to be a better solution. One which fits both of living lean’s motto’s: healthy and affordable!

All this got me thinking, what if I could make my own. I could buy seasonal produce when it goes on sale, dry it and then enjoy it year-long. My husband bought me a food de-hydrator, which is AMAZING! However, if you don’t have a food dehydrator you can obtain the same results using your oven.

So, here it is…Living Lean Homemade Dried Fruit

  • Slice fruit of your choice
  • In a small saucepan heat 1 cup of water and 1/3 cup of sugar. Bring to boil
  •  Boil for 3 mins until mixture is slightly reduced and then add 1/3 cup honey and 2 TBS lemon juice
  •  Turn down heat, mix to dissolve. Remove from heat
  • Dip each piece of fruit into the solution and them place on a wire cooling rack
  • Place the wire cooling rack in a 165F oven ( or a convection oven) . Leave the door ajar
  • Cook for 6-8 hours or until pliable
  • Cool and enjoy (you could even dice them up to put in my homemade granola recipe).  These little guys will stay fresh in an air tight container for a long time.

    Have fun, experiment with different fruits or veggies (kale, dried with sea salt taste just like a potato chip!)

    image from elanaspantry.com

    image from elanaspantry.com

  • 4 thoughts on “Homemade Dried Fruit

    1. Oh my!! I can’t wait to try this!! Thanks for linking up at Thrifty Thursday, that’s where I found you. 🙂

    2. Can’t tell if my first comment posted so I will try again. I can’t wait to try these!! It looks great and actually do-able! 🙂 thanks for linking up with Thrifty Thursday, that’s where I found you!

    3. Pingback: Thrifty Thursday {Week 4}

    Leave a Reply

    