Life Lessons / Mo' money, Mo' problems

Take Pride!

For the first time today I was embarrassed. Embarrassed by shopping with coupons, and for writing about my journey to financial freedom with this Blog.

It was brought to my attention today that someone (who I didn’t even realize read my blog) was making fun of it…and for a brief moment I was ashamed. I remembered what it felt like to be that five year old child my mom dragged to the grocery store with her. I remembered turning my head away as she handed her coupons to the cashier. But what exactly was it I was embarrassed by? Was I worried people would think we didn’t have enough money to buy food? Or was I afraid the cashier thought we were a hassle scanning through coupons? I have no idea. I had absolutely no reason what so ever to be embarrassed. I should have been very proud of my mother for making such large attempts to save money. It’s that very grocery store savings which contributed to my expensive private high school education, and to my even costlier college degree. I want to be able to provide those same exact things for my children. I want them to finish college without a student loan, and to have reliable transportation, but I also want them to understand the value of a dollar. My weekly trips to the drugstore and supermarket are paving the way for just that…I’m following in my parents footsteps and there is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of throughout this process.

Even if I was Oprah with more money than God, I would still use coupons. For those of us hit with the economy’s hard times saving money on the things we need with coupons allows us the luxury of spending our savings on things we want! For those fortunate enough to live a more lavish lifestyle saving money with coupons could allow them to be more charitable. Make larger donations to their favorite foundations, or take more elaborate vacations. Either way you look at it, not using coupons is silly. Why spend money on something you can get for free?

So the next time I make a trip to the drugstore or supermarket I will strut down that aisle! Flashing my coupons, and feel a sense of pride that not only am I helping my husband and I save money during this transition phase of our lives, but that I am paving the way for a better for future for my kids..if we have kids someday! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Take Pride!

  1. If anyone gives you a problem about being a SMART and FABULOUS woman, you tell me and I’ll take care of them. Shanaynay doesn’t appreciate this. You go girl! Your blog truly inspires me…everytime I get a huge savings, I think of you know :). Keep it up!

  2. I love your blog! I think the tips and tricks are awesome. Who wouldn’t want to save money if they can? Stupid people, that’s who.

Leave a Reply

