Shopping (aka barganing)

CVS Gift Card Challenge Week #1 ($73.95 worth of products for $17.97)

 

 

This morning I was reminded what it felt like to be a five year old child on Christmas morning.  I couldn’t wait to pop out of bed and start the day.  In fact I woke up before the alarm clock, no cup of coffee was needed to pull me out of a morning fog, and despite only getting a few hours sleep my spirits and energy levels were high!   My excitement about today is really two fold; one of my best friends is in town visiting for the long weekend, AND today I started my “CVS Gift Card Challenge!”

Last week some very sweet friends of mine gave me a $30 gift card to CVS.  Inspired by other gift card challenges on simply CVS I decided to attempt my own.  How long could I make this gift card last and how far could I stretch the value? 

With my over excitement I tried to take advantage of too many deals.  I grabbed $74 worth of items, but spent through $17.97  of the gift card.  I only have $12.03 balance on the gift card and 4 Extra Care Bucks remaining.  I will have to slow this pace way down.  Only taking advantage of the very best deals…free or moneymaking in weeks to come. 

 

Here is what I bought today:

 

Transaction #1:

Men’s Dove Products

                Dove Body Wash

Bought (2) on sale for 5.00 (normally $5.49 each)

Used (1) Buy One Get One Free Coupon = $5.00 for 2

                Dove Deodorant

                                Bought (2) on sale for $3.50 each (normally $4.99)

                                Used (1) 2.00 off coupon= $5.00 for 2

                Dove Men Care Soap Bar

                                Bought (2) on sale for $2.50 each (normally $4.39)

Hershey Air Delight Candy Bar

                Bought one at $1.19

                Used (1) FREE bar coupon from cvs magic coupon machine = FREE

Transaction Break Down:

-Used 3.50 Extra Care Bucks

-Out of Pocket Cost= $7.01

-Got back 5 ECB (when you spend $15 on Dove Men’s products get 5 ECB back)

Transaction #2

                Oral B toothbrush

                                Bought (1) on sale for $3.00 (normally $4.99)

                                Used (1)  $2.00 off coupon

                Tampax Pearl tampons

                                Bought (2) for $3.99 (normally $5.49)

                                Used (1) $3.00 off 2 coupon * *the extra care limit is one per household, but since I had two $4.00 off coupons I got two, and gave one to my visiting friend J

Transaction Break Down:

                -Used 5 ECB from transaction #1

                -Got back 2 ECB (when you buy tampax) and a 1 ECB printed as well (not sure why, but not complaining J )

                -Out of Pocket Cost= 1.98

Transaction #3

                Gillette Fusion Power Razor

                                –Bought (2) on sale for $9.99 (normally 12.99)

                                -Used (2) $4.00 off coupons *again the extra care limit is one per household, but since I had two $4.00 off coupons I got two, and gave one to my visiting friend J

                                -Got back 4 Extra Care Bucks

Transaction Break Down:

                -Used 3 ECB from transaction #2

                -Out of pocket cost= 8.98

TOTALS:

Gift Card Spent:  $17.97

Extra Care Bucks Remaining: 4

Gift Card Remaining: $12.03

2 thoughts on “CVS Gift Card Challenge Week #1 ($73.95 worth of products for $17.97)

Leave a Reply

