Shopping (aka barganing)

CVS gift card Challenge Week #2: $8.25 for $31.27 worth of food!

Last week I was a little overzealous with my gift card challenge…trying to take advantage of too many deals.  This week I was torn.  I wanted to only grab the best deals (and there were two freebies) but I also needed  some snacks.  I decided to go for the food items which were not quite as good of deals but we needed it and I wanted to show you can buy more than just body wash and deodorant at CVS.

In my e-mail this week I received a $4.00 off any $20 purchase YES!  So rather than dividing things up into multiple transactions and rolling over my extra care bucks, I just placed everything together leaving me with more bucks to start next week.  Here is what I got:

Chex Mix

On sale for 2/$3 (normally $3.19 each)

Bought (2)

Used (1) $1.00 off two coupon

Total price for items= $1.00 each

Sour Patch Kids

On sale for 2/$3.00 (normally 2.96 each)

Bought (2)

Used (1) $.50 off coupon

Total Price for items= $1.25 each

Balance Bar

On sale for $1.69

Bought (1)

Got back 1.69 Extra care bucks

Total cost of item= FREE

Oscar Myer hot dogs

Cost $2.89 each (not on sale!) I know I know, but I had NO FOOD in the house, and we needed dinner

Used (1) 1.00 off two coupon

Total Cost of item= $2.39 each

Split Rolls (they didn’t have hot dog buns)

On sale for $.99 (normally 2.89)

Used (1) $1.00 off coupon

Total cost of item= FREE

Bic Soleil Shick Razor

On Sale for $6.99 (normally $8.30)

Used (1) $3.00 off coupon

Got back 3.00 Extra Care Bucks

Total Cost of item= $.99

Final Transaction: used $4.00 off $20 purchase coupon, used 4 extra care bucks from last week. Grand total= $8.25 for $31.27 worth of stuff.

Gift Card Spent:  $26.22

Merchandise Received: $108.22

Extra Care Bucks Remaining: 5.69

Gift Card Remaining: $3.78

Next week will have to be a great week…my balance is getting very low.

Happy Shopping (saving) everyone!

Leave a Reply

