Sunday's / Supermarket Shopping Trip

Saved $55.26 on groceries this week!

Thank goodness I now have the Sunday newspaper delivered directly to our front door step.   This morning the only thing strong enough to lure me out of my newly air-conditioned bedroom was the novelty of this new convenience.  Unfortunately, my excitement quickly dissipated as I realized my newspaper was missing a very crucial component.  There were no coupon inserts!  What?!  As much as my husband and I enjoy skimming the weekly headlines the fact of the matter is the only reason we buy the paper is for the coupons.  If I want to read the news, I check cnn.com. hmph!

Rather than let this disappointment get me down, I set to work on devising a plan of attack for the grocery store.  This week Shaw’s is offering some amazing sales (about time too, the past few weeks have been slow).  Shaw’s is offering a “the more you spend the more you save” special…giving “cash back” on some purchases.  Very similar to CVS extra care bucks, when you buy some items a $2 off your next purchase coupon would print out.  So, my husband and I split up.  I went through the check out line first buying all the items which would give us “money back” then I handed him the earned money to buy the remainder of our groceries.

Here are some Highlights of our shopping trip:

Honest Tea

  •          on sale for 2/$1.00 (normally $1.50 each)
  •          Bought (4)
  •          Used (2) $1.00 off 1 coupons (from recyclebank)= 4 for FREE

Nature Valley Granola bars

  • on sale for 4/$10 (normally $3.79 each)
  • Bought (4) used 2 $1.00 off 2 coupon
  • Got back $2 = $1.50 per box!!!

Pop tarts (we don’t normally eat these, but my husband wanted them and since he was nice enough to come along, we bought them)

  • On Sale for 3/$5
  • Used $2/3 coupon
  • Got back $1 = $.67 a box woot woot!

Bailey’s Irish Creme

(As some of you may you know we drink our coffee black.  However, due to the major heat wave have been on a iced coffee kick.  Thought this might be good to liven up the iced drink)

  • On sale for 2/$5
  • Used (2) $1 off 1 coupons
  • Got back $1 = FREE!!!!

Dannon Activia yogurt

  • On sale for 2/$5
  • Used (1) $1 off 2 coupon
  • Got back $1 = $1 each or $.25 per yogurt!!!

We also got money back on the cat liter.  In total we had $6 Catalina coupons “to use on your next shopping trip” I handed my hubby those coupons to use off on the milk, ice cream, pasta sauce and coffee.  Everything was on sale, with a coupon (except the nectarines, which were on sale for $.99/lb which is still a good deal)….saving our family $55.26 this week.  To see more great Shaw’s specials, check out one of my favorite websites Mavin of Savin for coupon match-ups.  I always check here to be sure I haven’t missed anything 😉

One thought on “Saved $55.26 on groceries this week!

Leave a Reply

