Foodieness!!!!

Gourmet, don’t you just love that word?

What comes to mind when you hear the word gourmet?  I envision a tiny boutique filled with shelves of beautiful homemade jams, racks of steaming rosemary olive bread, a vast selection of fine cheeses and other rare imported items.  To me, the word gourmet has a wonderful positive connotation, but also one I associate with an expensive price tag.

Today I am going to show you how gourmet does not have to mean expensive, nor does it necessarily imply complicated.  The trick is to make everything look like it cost you a fortune and a lot of time!  Today we are creating gourmet butter tea cakes. A perfect desert that will taste better than the delicacies from a french bakery…but without the hefty price tag.

Saturday is my husband’s thirtieth birthday.  Every year a few weeks before the big day I ask him what type of cake he would like me to bake for him…. every year I get the same response “German chocolate cake.”

*ugh*

I do not like German chocolate cake! The first year we dated I caved and bake him his favorite desert, but every year since then I have been able to convince him into something both of us would enjoy (poor guy, can’t even get what he wants on his birthday ha).  A few years ago after his annual German chocolate cake request I merely suggested, “ okay if that’s what you would like, but I did find this amazing recipe for caramel macchiato cheese cake I was hoping to try out.” Knowing full well he could not resist any desert with espresso hidden inside.    This year my counter plan of attack to the dreaded German chocolate request was a reminder that we would be traveling to Maine for a long weekend and that I didn’t think a large cake would survive such a journey.  It worked!  I convinced him to let me make “mini cakes” easy to cart to Acadia national park.

Butter Tea Cakes

*Warning, this recipe is only lean on the wallet…certainly not your waist line!

First: gather your ingredients (recipe from William-sonoma)

 
 3 eggs (room temperature)
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 cup flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 stick of unsalted butter
1 cup of sugar
1/3 cup of milk
As you all know, I love to cook…and I make everything from scratch.  Home made breads, pasta, bagels, cakes, granola etc.  All that baking requires a lot of flour. A. LOT. OF. FLOUR!

my flour supply

Right before our costco membership expired I stocked up on a 25lb bag of flour.  It’s all ready half gone 🙂
Directions:
  • In a small bowl mix the egg whites and sugar
  • in another bowl, sift flour, baking soda and salt
  • In an electric mixer, beat the butter until smooth…add sugar until creamy
  • add egg mixture to creamy butter
  • add flour in three additions alternating with milk
  • spread into a molded pan
  • bake for 20 to 25 mins at 350
  • flip pan upside down on rack to cool

Let fully cool and then frost. enjoy. Now that I think about it, I’m not sure I mentioned to my husband that these mini cakes would be ‘flowers’ ha 🙂

One thought on “Gourmet, don’t you just love that word?

  1. Oh my gosh.. That is too funny! My husband is the same way he only wants German Chocolate and nobody else in our family eats it! Therefore it never gets made.. lol ……. We had our boys birthday parties yesterday and I made 2 cakes a lemon and a chocolate. He asked why I never made his german chocolate for his birthday and i said because nobody will eat it but you! He’s like yep.. So I promised I’d make him one and he’d better eat all of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

