Life Lessons

New Year, New Possibilities!

 

 

Ahhhh don’t you just love January first? (and  I’m not just saying this because I am a personal trainer who is elated that many people resolve to start taking better care of their health) I love January first because today everyone has a clean slate.  A chance to reflect on mistakes made, or opportunities missed and try again.  It’s a new day, a new year, and its filled with possibilities. 

For the first time in many years I didn’t wake up this New Years morning with regrets ( a hangover yes) but no feeling of remorse for things I did not accomplish throughout the previous year, and no large holiday bill waiting to be paid off (my husband and I did not exchange gifts this year, only gave to family). I woke up this morning knowing I did the best I could, and that this year would be even better!

As you all know 2011 was a tough year for me.  Moving to Boston was a lot more than just leaving behind friends, family, and a job I loved.  2011 was eye-opening, my greatest life lesson, and an all-encompassing awaking. Sometimes in life you need to fall or hit rock-bottom to realize there is a better way.  It’s like when parents tell their kids ‘don’t run fast on the pool deck, or you will slip and fall’ the child doesn’t listen and then after falling realizes their parents were right. For years my parents tried to teach me the importance of saving money, using coupons, and making wise investments. Did I listen? Nope, not till I ‘slipped on that pool deck’ so to speak in 2011. 

Last year I started this blog as a way to not only track my financial and fitness progress, but to share with all of you easy tips and tricks I learned along the way….save you from ‘slipping on the pool deck’ such as I did. Unfortunately, I let life get in the way. I began to think no one cared to read about a new recipe I tried  or how to save $50 at CVS and I stopped writing.

This year my number one resolution is to keep up with my blog (writing at least once a week on fitness and saving money), and even if no one else reads this besides myself that’s okay. Writing about my fitness and financial tribulations will hold me accountable, force me to keep my goals in the forefront of my mind and remain a top priority.  

My second top resolution is to practice what I preach in terms of fitness. Every day I teach my clients proper nutrition and exercise techniques, however along with my money downfalls of 2011 I didn’t keep my own personal health as top priority as I usually do. No longer, this is a new year, and my health is just as important as my clients!

Happy New Year everyone, lets mak
4 thoughts on “New Year, New Possibilities!

  1. I do love and appreciate the new year! Time to take stock, learn from old mistakes, and look ahead to new adventures.

    I think your resolution to write even if no one reads it is essential to me – my best writing comes when I’m not worried about who’s listening, but just speak my heart and say the truth as best I understand it at the current moment.

    Best wishes for a fantastic new year!

Leave a Reply

