Mo' money, Mo' problems

“Cheers to a new year, and another chance for us to get it right”

Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.  ~Oprah Winfrey

While sorting through old documents on my ipad I stumbled upon a blog entry I wrote January 1st 2012. After taking a hiatus from “Living Leaner” I had resolved to write an entry at least once a week holding myself accountable to 2012 resolutions. Improving the 4 F’s in my life…fitness, family, friends, and finance. How quickly I fell off that bandwagon! As I sit here today and reflect over the past year of my life I am astounded at how much has changed! Yes, I am still a personal trainer, always shop with coupons, and love to walk out of CVS with a bag full of free items. Even more so than 2011, 2012 totally rocked my world! I started a new job in the finance industry (as an admin, don’t go crazy thinking all of a sudden I will have sound advice regarding the stock market), and I had a baby! October 12th, 2012 my husband and I welcomed our son Landon into the world.

As all of you fellow parents know, kids are expensive and now more than ever I need to get my fitness and finances into shape…not just for myself, but for my son. I don’t want Landon to have an unhealthy mommy in the waist line or wallet!

In 2012 my blog was predominately about saving money and how to stretch a dollar at the grocery store. Unfortunately just clipping coupons is not going to put my son through college or place a down payment on a house, especially with my new $500 a week day care bill. So this year my blog (and I promise to keep up with it) will cover more than just how to score free razor blades at Rite Aid or super cheap diaper deals at CVS (don’t worry, I will still give you the heads up on those too), in 2013 I will need to live leaner to grow! I want to learn about the stock market, open a 529 account, and invest my money in ways to have it start working for me… all while I get this body back into pre baby shape!

My first step will be to create a budget so I know exactly how much money I have to invest after all my expenses each month (and rid the house of all the unhealthy foods I “needed” due to pregnancy cravings)

Here’s to a new year, greater personal wealth, and well-being!

Leave a Reply

