Mo' money, Mo' problems

It’s not you, it’s me: Ending my relationship with cable TV

image from sahmblogspot

Dear Cable T.V.,
I think it’s time we started seeing other people. We have had an amazing yearlong fling filled with 2am rendezvous and trashy programing. I have savored the countless hours we spent curled up on the couch together, and will be forever grateful for the company you provided while caring for my newborn son. You were always there for me. The truth is…I have not been faithful to you. The Kindle and I have reconnected, and Netflix swept me off my feet. It’s not you…it’s me. My goal is to live leaner, and honestly your fancy price tag is slightly above my means. I’m sorry. Even though I will miss you, I have to let you go.
Thanks for the memories,
Diana

I grew up in a small town in upstate NY. Our house was situated in such a way that the cable television lines did not reach our home (or so that’s the story my parents told me). We had exactly 4 channels: ABC, CBS, NBC, and PBS. I have vivid memories from my childhood of reaching over the arm of my father’s squishy recliner to turn the television Knob (there was no remote control) and then fiddling with the ‘rabbit ears’ antenna to reduce the amount of white snow just enough to see my desired program (typically The Cosby Show or rescue 911) through the haze.

image from allmightydad

I have never been a big T.V. watcher. I’m not sure if that’s due to growing up without cable or because I am such an avid reader. It wasn’t until I went off to college at age 18 I first laid eyes on cable programing. I realized quickly I wasn’t missing much. Most of the shows I enjoyed aired on local network television. My husband is not a big TV watcher either. Movies, yes, but TV not so much. We lived our first 6 years together cable free. Every night while eating dinner we would watch a Netflix movie or search the web. We never felt like we were missing out on anything.

When I first found out I was pregnant I decided I needed cable. I convinced my husband I would need extensive programing to keep me company while I was up with the baby in the middle of the night. He agreed and we went all out! Beyond basic cable we signed up for the works. HBO, Showtime, TMC, Tivo…you name it, we had to have it. We had the television equivalent of someone who dieted for a long time and then encountered a dessert buffet. We gorged ourselves on TV. I had to see ALL of the shows people raved about. Dexter, Homeland, Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad, Girls, The Walking Dead etc etc

Last week we moved into a new home…a beautiful lead free one (you can read about my apartment search here). I called our cable provider to inform them of the impending move and find out what steps we needed to take to transfer our service.

I was told they did not service our new address and that I would have to seek other providers. WHAT?!?!?! Noooo didn’t they understand, season three of Game of thrones was starting I need service!

Then after reading a post by one of my favorite bloggers UndeadDad and how he cut cable (read his post here) I started thinking perhaps I could live without cable again. I mean, I have lived over 20 years of my life cable free and survived (internet I CAN NOT live without. It’s only been four days in the new house without internet and I am already in withdrawal…thank god for iphones). Ending our cable service will put an additional $70 a month into my pocket…that’s an additional $840 a year into savings. So, that’s that. Good bye Cable! $840 a year is worth much more to me than the enjoyment of The Layover or Pawn Stars.

Cable TV,
Perhaps we will be re-united again someday, but for now…I’m living leaner!
All my love,
Diana

13 thoughts on “It’s not you, it’s me: Ending my relationship with cable TV

  1. Can I ask how much you pay for just Internet alone? Is it through your cable provider? I have been wanting to give up cable for a looooong time!

    • the Internet alone (through xfinity) is $29.99 for the first 6 months, then months 6-12 it jumps to $34.99. At least there is no contract so I cancel at anytime. I also plan to add Netflix back in at $7 a month, so in total spending $37 a month instead of my current cable internet package around $120

  2. I too lived without cable for many years and then my husband and I added it a few years back…I was in heaven as well….but then it just seemed like such an expense so we got rid of it and only have regular channels and Netflix now. The only thing I really miss about cable is the DVR option where you can pause and record shows. I have some favorite shows on regular tv but I am always missing them because I’m busy when they come on!! Oh well, it sure beats that $100 price tag!

  3. Love this! I ended my dysfunctional relationship with cable about a year ago and haven’t looked back since. I think I had my moment of clarity when I caught myself watching an episode of Keeping Up with The Kardashians. A low moment, for sure. Not having cable has freed me up to do other more interesting things — like read your blog! Keep up the great work! 🙂

    • We have been in our new place over a month now and haven’t even plugged in the TV (watched a few things on the iPad). It’s spring lets all get outside and enjoy the beautiful weather! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  4. I found your blog from simpleigh organized’s blog award 🙂 We sold our big projection tv about 2 years ago in a garage sale when we moved to our new house and consequently got rid of both cable and the tv for about a year. We finally purchased another tv and now we just watch netflix if we feel like spending some time in front of the tv. I have to say that my productivity has gone up as I am no longer spending upwards of 3 hours in front of the tv! I honestly don’t know how I functioned before and got anything done. Plus, I totally don’t miss the monthly bill we used to pay with cable.

    • I am so glad you stopped by my blog! we still have yet to turn our tv on since moving into the new place April 1st (full disclosure I have watched a few shows on the ABC.com app on my ipad) and I really haven’t missed the cable bill!!!

  5. I only watch the news on occasion, otherwise keep the television unplugged. I never had cable. I prefer to put on relaxing music and read a book during my down times. During my Living frugally Quest, I will watch a DVD from the red box on my laptop. I discontinued my internet service, so will have to read your blog from the library once a week!

Leave a Reply

