Foodieness!!!!

Homemade Fruit and Nut Bars

Looking for a quick, delicious, wholesome snack? How about one that’s all natural, organic, unprocessed, has no preservatives, is raw (uncooked), vegan, Paleo, and takes less than 5 minutes to prepare? My homemade fruit and nut bars are the perfect solution!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All my friends and family know I love Larabars. These little gems are an ideal all natural snack. Only problem is each one will set you back about $2!

Each Larabar has less than nine ingredients. Basic ones like cashew cookie only have two ingredients. Two…You’re paying a dollar an ingredient. Shouldn’t it be possible for a fruit and nut bar to be great for both the wallet and waist line? Yes it should, and it can be!

Making your own homemade fruit and nut bars is super simple. The key is in the ratio; 1 cup of nuts : 2 cups of fruit. As long as you keep the proportions the same you can create an endless array of fun flavors. Here are my family’s favorites:

Ingredients:
•1 cup cashews (you can use almonds, peanuts, walnuts etc)
•1 cup filler fruit (I used prunes but figs and dates also work great)
•1 cup fun fruit-(this is the bar flavor, I used a mixture of blueberries and cherries)
And that’s it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My husband’s favorite bar is cranberry lime coconut: 1 cup of cashews, 1 cup of prunes, 1 cup of unsweetened cranberries, 2 wedges of lime, ¼ cup dried coconut flakes and I love peanut butter and jelly: 1 cup peanuts, 1 cup figs, 1 cup strawberries

Instructions:
1.) Chop nuts in food processor

Chopped cashews

Chopped cashews

2.) Add dried fruit

add dried fruit

add dried fruit

3.) Line a glass plate with plastic wrap
4.) Press fruit and nut mixture into wrapped plate
5.) Cut and enjoy!

"DIY Larabar" aka "the Diana bar"

“DIY Larabar” aka “the Diana bar”

If you want to tuck this recipe away to try someday Pin It! Press the pin it button below and this link will automatically be saved to your Pintrest board. Enjoy 🙂

7 thoughts on “Homemade Fruit and Nut Bars

  1. These look delicious! I will be making them very soon. I also shared it to facebook as I have a friend who runs a page all about clean & lean eating! Perfect!

  2. Wow, these are getting made tonight! I’ve been experimenting with new bars that use dried fruits and I have a feeling that these will be super tasty. I have a whole bag of cashews and pecans that I got on sale at Whole Foods – what a perfect way to use them. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

