Foodieness!!!!

Jars are to babies as Lean Cuisines are to adults

Open wide baby.

Here comes the airplane.

VVRRROOOOOMMM

See, mommy likes it.

MMMMMMMmmmmm

image from mordantorange.com

Prior to having a child of my own this is how I envisioned meal times:

My baby propped up in a highchair, shaking his head “no” as my failed attempts at “baby food airplane” were deflected by his lightning speed paws. Slimy, viscous, substances no longer resembling food smeared across his chubby cheeks in a type of baby food “spa mud mask”…Speckles of food puree splattering the walls and ceiling like a bloody crime scene.

image from 2.bp.blogspot.com

In reality my child LOVES solid food. There is no forced feeding, no “here comes the choo choo,” and certainly not a single drop wasted. Break out a jar of apples and he literally lunges toward the spoon attacking the yummy contents. If you’re too slow to bring him the next bite he will pound the high chair tray almost as if to say “um, hurry it up mom I’m waiting.”

As a self-proclaimed foodie I am happy to see my son enjoying a wide spectrum of delicacies, but as fitness professional I worry about additives in the jared food. We only allow Landon to eat organic, GMO free foods from brands which allow you to track the food from the field in which it was grown right down to the pot it was cooked in. And I gotta tell ya…that is expensive! Each jar or frozen packet is going to cost you well over a dollar a piece.

Really when I think about it, buying jarred baby food for my kid is no different than buying pre-prepared food for myself. I wouldn’t feed myself frozen pot pies for dinner so why would I give the equivalent to my son?

Ideally I knew I wanted to make my own baby food, but struggled with the extra startup cost of a baby food maker. At an initial investment of $100 for just the machine alone I would have to make over 150 jars of baby food before breaking even…might as well just buy the expensive pre-prepared stuff!

Then it dawned on me. I don’t need a fancy baby food maker to create my own organic delicacies!

For example Sweet Potatoes are one of Landon’s favorite foods. At the local Asian grocery store we can buy fresh organic sweet potatoes for $.69 a pound. Simply bake a potato in a 400 degree oven for about 35mins alongside whatever you are preparing yourself for dinner. Let it cool. Peel off the skins and throw into a food processor. Viola! That’s it. For less than a dollar you will have created about 15 servings of your own, homemade, organic sweet potatoes.

Super easy and only takes a few seconds to portion off part of your own dinner to puree. Large batchs can be divided into individual in muffin tins, covered with plastic wrap and frozen for later use.

Now that’s Living Leaner…in the wallet and (my sons) waistline!

13 thoughts on “Jars are to babies as Lean Cuisines are to adults

  1. We didn’t do jarred baby food either. The idea horrified me. I thought, if most people realized what kind of temperatures this “food” was cooked to to ensure no contamination or bacterial growth they would also wonder what happened to all the nutrients and vitamins in them as well.
    We had a baby bullet, and it was useful, sort of. But after a month or so, we just let her have at it. She had a LOT of teeth, lol.

    • I didn’t even think about cooking temperatures. You are so right! And the fact he will soon be eating finger foods is yet another reason I couldn’t justify the baby food maker….he will eat pores for such a shirt period of time.

  2. That’s awesome that he loves his food! My son down right refused until he was over 12 months old and even then it was a hard switch. We do the organic too! A hard switch to make on the wallet but it just feels right. Love your blog!!

  3. It’s great that your son is enjoying solids. I can’t wait to get started with my son. I know my mom never bought jarred food for either of her children. She would just make one big batch, freeze in an ice cube tray and then put the food in a freezer safe container.

  4. I am really enjoying your blog! I am making my own baby food for my little one as well. I feel better knowing exactly what he’s eating and what is going into his food.

  5. The only jar of baby food I bought was prunes. The rest I made. When my little ones got “plugged up” those pureed prunes worked wonders and I really had no idea how to make pureed prunes!

Leave a Reply

