Life Lessons / Mommy-hood

To all moms: what your children mean to say on Mother’s Day

Someday, when he has children of his own he will understand everything I have done for him....

Someday, when he has children of his own he will understand everything I have done for him….

Hi, Mom! (DP 05/12/2013)

Allow me to apologize for all the years I sent flowers or a card to you on Mother’s Day. I realize now how trivial, almost laughable that gesture was. As if a simple card could possibly express my appreciation for everything you have done for me.

Mother’s Day has taken on an entirely new meaning for me this year. Not just because as a new mom myself I am bound to receive a card or flower assortment of my own, but because now I understand what this day is really about!

I now know you sacrificed for me.

From the moment you learned you were pregnant, your life changed.

You gave up coffee and deli meat…wine and soft cheese. You sacrificed your body and your free time.

I gave you heart burn, and swollen feet..expanded your waistline and your level of patience.

I showed you how strong you really are…that you can endure pain, create life.

I know there were sleepless nights, and days that felt never-ending…times you wanted your old life back and moments when you couldn’t imagine your world without me.

I know you held me close, whispered in my ear…promised me love and protection.

I know I brought you joy, and tears. Highs and lows.

I know you got down on your hands and knees to encourage me to crawl…laughed when I giggled, cried when I spoke my first word.

I know you doubted yourself, questioned if you were doing everything you possibly could.

I know you felt guilty…guilty for having to divide your time between work and me.

I taught you what real love is…how encompassing and blinding it can be.

Through me you learned what selflessness entails, and how deep a mother’s bond lies.

You did everything in your power to make me happy…and I am.

Thank you for all the things I am just now realizing you did for me…and everything I have yet to learn.

I love and appreciate you.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Me

20 thoughts on “To all moms: what your children mean to say on Mother’s Day

  1. Pingback: Dear Mom | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  2. Pingback: My Mom Is 99; Top That! | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Dear Mom, | mycookinglifebypatty

  4. Pingback: My Mum | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

